5 Gripping Books Like Harry Potter

When it comes to young adult fantasy, nothing will ever beat J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. However, that doesn’t mean that other authors don’t come pretty darn close to it. Take a look at these gripping books like Harry Potter.

1. The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss

Told in the protagonist, Kvothe’s, own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. While The Name of the Wind is a personal favourite and completely deserves to be on this list, a small disclaimer is necessary. The third and final book of this series has been in the works for nine years, and with no release date in sight, we have to wonder will it ever come at all?

2. Torpor

Kieva McLaughlin

Set in another world, but somewhere we are all destined to end up, Torpor follows James and his new friend Stevie, as they compete to learn the powers of Air, Fire, Water and Earth. Torpor is an exhilarating read that will keep you engrossed until the last page. It is bursting with all of the elements a great fantasy read needs, from rich relationships, quirky characters, and more than a touch of magic.

Read more about Torpor here.

3. The Hobbit

J.R.R. Tolkien

Whisked from his comfortable hobbit-hole by Gandalf the wizard and a band of dwarves, Bilbo Baggins finds himself caught up in a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. The Hobbit is a perfectly great start to anyone looking to master The Lord of the Rings books. I personally preferred The Hobbit, and found it to move at a much faster and more enjoyable pace.

4. Red Sister

Mark Lawrence

Red Sister follows Nona as she navigates life at the Convent of Sweet Mercy. A place where young girls are raised to become killers. While magic doesn’t exist in the same way as Harry Potter, it is still very much alive in Mark Lawrence’s universe.

5. Ascendant

Michael Miller

In a world where dragons partner with human riders, a meagre dish boy must cultivate the mysterious power of his dragon’s magical core. A unique energy which may tip the balance in the battles to come. Ascendant has a fresh take on magic and really draws the reader in. It is full of adventure and surprises.

If you liked this blog on books like Harry Potter, why not read our blog on books like The Hunger Games?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: